17 May 2021 TE DEUM

“Te Deum” – that’s the title of the nearest concert of the Poznan Philharmonic to which the music lovers are invited next Friday on the 21st of May at 7 pm in AMU Concert Hall. The title isn’t random, as two works entitled “Te Deum” – first by Karol Kurpiński (coming from Włoszakowice in Greater Poland), second by Joseph Haydn – will dominate the Friday evening.

The premiere of “Te Deum” by Karol Kurpiński was held on the 24th of May 1829 in St. John’s Cathedral in Warsaw during the celebrations related to the enthronement of Tsar Nicholas I as the King of Poland. It was one of the three works (besides “Veni Creator” by Carlo Soliva and “Festive Mass” by Józef Elsner) written especially for the occasion. All three compositions were assigned to the authors and they, not keen to write for such an occasion, are said to have… drawn lots which work each of them would compose. That’s what Łukasz Borowicz writes in the concert program of the next concert: ‘Despite complicated times and circumstances a work was born which presents the best features of Kurpiński’s mature style. His operatic experience is visible virtually in every movement, the lyrical clarinet solo is reminiscent of operas by Donizetti, while an impressive violin solo was probably influenced by Niccolo Paganini who also performed in Warsaw in connection with the coronation of Nicholas I.

Joseph Haydn’s “Te Deum”, which originated in the 1790s, is also filled with a wealthy content, and the presence of a short, yet gorgeous piece by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in the evening’s program is not casual: his music was one of the most important inspirations for Karol Kurpiński.


Magdalena STEFANIAK – soprano
Katarzyna BELKIUS – soprano
Dominika STEFAŃSKA – mezzosoprano
Mykhailo KUSHLYK – tenor
Piotr MACIEJOWSKI – tenor
Paweł HORODYSKI – bass
Polish Chamber Choir Schola Cantorum Gedanensis
Jan Łukaszewski – choirmaster
Łukasz BOROWICZ – conductor
Poznan Philharmonic Orchestra


  • Joseph Haydn, “Te Deum for the Empress Maria Theresa” Hob.XXIIIc:2
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, “Laudate Dominum omnes gentes” from “Vesperae solennes de confessore” KV 339
  • Karol Kurpiński, “Te Deum”

Season tickets: (21.05) DL | SG | MW

Tickets: (21.05) price A

Financed by the Ministry of Culture, National Heritage and Sport from the Fund for the Promotion of Culture obtained from the surcharges laid down in State gambling by Article 80 (1) of the Law on Games of Chance of 19 November 2009 under the “Music” programme carried out by the Institite of Music and Dance