05 January 2021 CHOPIN FOR THREE…

A musical drama in four acts, though with a cheerful ending spiced with a hint of a certain melancholy – that is how one can describe Piano Trio in G minor, Op. 8 by Frédéric Chopin, which will be performed during the next Internet Concert of the Poznan Philharmonic on Friday, 8th of January 2021 at 7 p.m.

Chopin began to write the Trio in 1828 and presumably completed in the spring of 1829. The work had to wait another year for its premiere performance – it was played for the first time in the August of 1830, in the spacious salon of the Chopin family house, in the presence of Wojciech Żywny and Józef Elsner, the pedagogues of young Chopin. And although it was later dedicated to prince Antoni Radziwiłł, it originated as a school score during the composer’s studies with Józef Elsner. The musical piece is the only chamber work written during Chopin’s adolescence. The echoes of Ludwig van Beethoven’s, Franz Schubert’s and Johann Sebastian Bach’s music can be heard in it, as well as the motives from oberek and krakowiak, Polish folk dances.

This is what Mieczysław Tomaszewski, a prominent authority on Frédéric Chopin, wrote about the Piano Trio in G minor: “… here we have a piece by all means remarkable, a perfect example of Polish chamber music. At the same time it is one of the most superb works of its genre in the European music. There is only one problem: the Trio was composed in a somewhat less Chopin style. Or, more rightly said, in a different style than the one we are inclined to consider as Chopin’s.”

The chamber work of Frédéric Chopin will be performed by the Poznan Piano Trio composed of the pianist Laura Kluwak-Sobolewska and the musicians of Poznan Philharmonic Orchestra: Anna Ziółkowska – violin and Monika Baranowska – cello.


Poznan Piano Trio:
Anna ZIÓŁKOWSKA – violin
Monika BARANOWSKA – cello


  • Frédéric Chopin, Piano Trio in G minor, Op. 8
    Allegro con fuoco
    Adagio sostenuto
    Finale: Allegretto